HF Radio opps ?

Discussion of topics related to corporate aviation throughout the world.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore

GGCC
Rank 3
Rank 3

HF Radio opps ?

Post by GGCC »

I'm an Amateur radio opp and i've monitored a couple of aircraft over the last month checking into the
Maritime Mobile (daytime) Net on 14.300 mhz both were Canadian, one i'm assuming was a scheduled carrier the other a corporate Gulfstream....both were in the Caribbean heading for Canada.

Just wondering how many of you pilots out there monitor the Amateur HF frequencies and if so which ones :?:

I have sometimes monitored US airliners trans Atlantic flights on 40 meters.....

Thanks;
Dave
call sign: VE9YA
---------- ADS -----------

burhead1
Rank 7
Rank 7

Re: HF Radio opps ?

Post by burhead1 »

Ve3sxo just 2 meter :smt040

gasper
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by gasper »

Hey GGCC,

Amateur Radio is an interesting hobby I'm sure. Just to answer your question though, I wouldn't think most pilots would be monitoring other non-ATC radio sites, at least not while they are flying. Many jets have SELCAL, which notifies them with a chime alert when ATC is attempting to contact them. When the SELCAL chime/light is received by the pilot, is the point when the pilot will turn on his HF and make the required communication exchange, then again vacate the frequency to attend to the various piloting duties he is concerned with in his flight. These include navigation & regular position-reporting as well as meeting the demands of pax & crew and monitoring various aircraft systems and functions. There is usually more than enough things to keep him busy with his piloting responsibilities enroute, so I would doubt whether many pilots would take time enroute to "play" much with the HF.