Best Route to Corporate Flying

Discussion of topics related to corporate aviation throughout the world.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore

Jellyman
Rank 1
Rank 1

Best Route to Corporate Flying

Post by Jellyman »

Hello,

I am looking to have a positive discussion on what is the best route to take into the corporate jet world. I am a 2800hr pilot with my ATPL. I currently fly Caravans and Twin Otters, but want to get some info for when I am ready to move on. The reason I ask is because I have very little real IFR time and was wondering if that is something Corporate operaters look at when hiring F/O's. Do I need to find a way to get some actual IFR time before approaching corporate jet operators or is that something they overlook if you have as many hours as I do.

And no I do not want to work at an Airline, but if I have to go to a commuter to gain IFR operational experience I will. Thats kinda the question really. Any ideas?

Cheers and fly safe.
:)
---------- ADS -----------

Roar
Rank 4
Rank 4

Re: Best Route to Corporate Flying

Post by Roar »

Jellyman:

The short answer to your question on what the best route into the Corporate world is, simply have a close friend working at the flight department you want into. We all know aviation is about who you know and in the corporate world this is taken to the extreme. Most jobs are never advertised as one of the pilots working there will have a friend waiting for a spot to open up, and if they do advertise the position requirements are such that only the person they want to hire will meet all the requirements.
Jellyman wrote: is that something they overlook if you have as many hours as I do.