ForeFlight Wind

Discuss aviation related software and devices here.

Moderators: lilfssister, North Shore, ahramin, sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako

Post Reply
RNAV30
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:26 am

ForeFlight Wind

Post by RNAV30 »

I can't seem to find it, is there a way to input Winds as Observed in ForeFlight?

If I'm using it in flight and get the winds off the GPS or G1000, is there a way to plug those in vs. what it would have calculated on the ground based on FDs?
---------- ADS -----------
 
photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 8020
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:47 pm
Location: Making aviation exhausting, everywhere

Re: ForeFlight Wind

Post by photofly »

Here's some information on where Foreflight sources wind forecasts:
http://blog.foreflight.com/2011/09/21/f ... 0m-served/

There's no way to substitute your own data. However when you use it in flight, it uses your actual ground speed for ETA etc., so how would a wind observation help you?
---------- ADS -----------
 
Strike me down with all of your hatred & your journey towards the dark side will be complete!
RNAV30
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:26 am

Re: ForeFlight Wind

Post by RNAV30 »

While practicing diversions or changing the routing in flight ect. when not using a GPS tracker.

The times I would actually do this are few and far betwee. I was just making sure I wasn't missing something.
---------- ADS -----------
 
photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 8020
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:47 pm
Location: Making aviation exhausting, everywhere

Re: ForeFlight Wind

Post by photofly »

I'm pretty sure that if you're not supposed to use "notched pencils" for a diversion - as the Flight Test Guide stipulates - then an iPad running Foreflight isn't going to pass muster either ;-)
---------- ADS -----------
 
Strike me down with all of your hatred & your journey towards the dark side will be complete!
Post Reply

Return to “Aviation Software & Devices”