Crossroads

Got a hot employment or interview tip to help a fellow aviator find a job or looking for a little job advice place your posting here.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

hangar3
Rank 2
Rank 2

Crossroads

Post by hangar3 »

Ok so I find myself in a bit of a bind here, I was hoping to get some advice.

So I am in Calgary, and educated as a mechanical engineer. I was in oil & gas before things hit the fan. I have 3 years experience which basically means nobody will hire me as I am not a "professional engineer." I didn't like it anyways, so I took a course to get into aeronautical engineering. I finished the course part, and all I have is one internship opportunity abroad that would drive my finances into the ground due to low pay while living in an awful location, so I don't think it's worth it (France, where interns get paid $500/month...). Long story short, this has led me nowhere, and I still can't seem to find a job anywhere in the country.

I do have about 120 hours or so on my PPL. Sometimes I have this feeling in my gut to just drop everything and finish my CPL. Like even though I paid for my engineering course already, I feel like not completing it. Clearly the right thing to do would be to finish it and say I have it, but I just don't want to go do this internship because I was so turned off by the place. Meanwhile, I have friends who work as pilots, and they report they are overworked, and life seems good.

Any thoughts on this? Are there any engineers who have been in that position? Would the prospects be any better?
Is it an issue getting flying jobs with an engineering degree?

:smt017
---------- ADS -----------

telex
Rank 7
Rank 7

Re: Crossroads

Post by telex »

Who are your friends flying for?

Liberalism itself as a religion where its tenets cannot be proven, but provides a sense of moral rectitude at no real cost.
milotron
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by milotron »