Employee scheduling in the aviation industry

Got a hot employment or interview tip to help a fellow aviator find a job or looking for a little job advice place your posting here.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

Twowheelcharlie
Rank 0
Rank 0

Employee scheduling in the aviation industry

Post by Twowheelcharlie »

By putting the employee first, the customer effectively comes first by default. Employees should always win first. | Richard Branson
As a business owner, I'm pretty impressed with how the scheduling (Punctuality) of most employees are in the aviation / helicopter industry. Especially if you compare it to retail or the food industry. Is it because most employees or a very high percentage of these employees understand how important their job (No matter how small) is?

I mean one small mistake (Bad maintenance of aircraft) can create some fatal scenarios.

People in this industry just seem to be more "on the ball" than others.

What are the possible reasons for that?
---------- ADS -----------

snowcone
Rank 3
Rank 3

Re: Employee scheduling in the aviation industry

Post by snowcone »

Lol, are you comparing a mechanic/pilot to a fast food worker?

FOD_Vacuum
Rank 4
Rank 4

Post by FOD_Vacuum »

A fast food worker didn’t spend 80k to work there and getting a new job in fast food elsewhere is light years easier than getting a job in aviation if you were fired for being late.

We value our career, especially after we put so much money into our training. Just like a car enthusiast that puts thousands of dollars into a project car and takes care of it like it where his baby. The aviation industry is very small. One @#$! up or being known to be late often puts a serious dent into your reputation. Any pilot should know this. I certainly have my own personal pride when I roll in to work a little early and complete a flight on time-when I fly, I expect to be on time and so I try reciprocate that as much as possible when I am the captain.