Working overseas as a Canadian Pilot

Got a hot employment or interview tip to help a fellow aviator find a job or looking for a little job advice place your posting here.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

FlackoJodye
Rank 0
Rank 0

Working overseas as a Canadian Pilot

Post by FlackoJodye »

Hi there! New here but a long time lurker.
I've been reading quite a few threads about working overseas vs staying here, and there seems to be only good comments from working overseas (salary, livability, etc.) Little bit of a background, I've been instructing for ~2 months now and I'm enjoying it! Though, my dream is to really be an airline pilot. Right now I'm focused on instructing, but I am planning to take my required licenses and ratings for ATPL on the way.

I am wondering, what is the possibility for me to work overseas, particularly in Asia (Japan is the dream, but Korea, Philippines, etc.)? Is it a reasonable goal? If so, any advice on how to prepare about it?

Appreciate all the answers!

Well wishes,
V
---------- ADS -----------

JoeShithe
Rank 0
Rank 0

Re: Working overseas as a Canadian Pilot

Post by JoeShithe »

I think it’s good to look outside Canada for other options in the industry.
Going overseas does require some marketable time so maybe keep pursuing a career in Canada while looking abroad.
Once you get established here and have a bit of experience, you are in a good position to stay or further explore going overseas. You might be very happy at home.

If you do leave, it can be a bit difficult coming back so I would suggest looking at it for the long term or even the rest of your career.
Some Asian carriers hire expat FO’s but it’s very rare any get upgraded so best to look at Asia for a DEC position.
The Middle East has its ups and downs and I would say it might have seen it’s heyday but still a option to consider.

At all costs avoid the the Philippines and Indonesia.