Good career start - flight dispatcher

Got a hot employment or interview tip to help a fellow aviator find a job or looking for a little job advice place your posting here.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

igorcanuck
Rank 2
Rank 2

Good career start - flight dispatcher

Post by igorcanuck »

Hey guys, I got good advice for new pilots or even students pilots on how to do your first step into an airline. Go there as a flight dispatcher.
I've been working for Perimeter Aviation for the last 2 years, and I can tell it is a really good job. As a dispatcher, you will be dealing with all pilot-related stuff, like weather, cars, weight and balance, etc. It will get you well prepared for your first airline training.
You will be in touch with Captains all day long and be able to construct a good relationship and to build your way into the flight line.
Perimeter is known as a company that gives the first opportunity to new pilots, so if you're a brand new pilot or even a PPL student, consider this as a really good start. Perimeter uses Foreflight, so you will be able to use it and study for your next TC exams. I studied for my Inrat, Saron and Samra most of the time during my breaks on the job. Really nice.
To become a flight dispatcher you just need a Canadian radio license and TC FD Ops and FD Met to he hired. These exams are free of charge and if you have an aviation background, the exam is pretty simple (much easier than a pilot exam).
This patch seems much easier to me comparing, for example, as a rampie. As a dispatcher you will be seating at the office, with air conditioning, keurig, kitchen, washroom, and sometimes watching the hockey playoffs... No heavy liftings, no winter operations... The salary is much better as well... actually better than FO salary!!