703 one employee?

This forum has been developed to discuss Bush Flying & Specialty Air Service topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore, Rudder Bug

headache
Rank 0
Rank 0

703 one employee?

Post by headache »

Hi,

Is it possible/thinkable to start and operate a 703 with one employee?

Thanks
---------- ADS -----------

Beaver Driver
Rank 3
Rank 3

Re: 703 one employee?

Post by Beaver Driver »

Sure it is. As long as you qualify for all the key positions and can pass the tests. PRM can be tricky if you don’t have a maintenance background, but not impossible.

Flying a twin only doubles your chance of having an engine failure
sunk
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by sunk »

I operate with just myself, I’m the PRM, ops manager and chief pilot. As I’m semi retired I can pick and choose what work I want. I only take on two contracts and fly about 150 hrs per year.

headache
Rank 0
Rank 0

Post by headache »

Thanks guys that's useful.

Sunk, I have no management experience, but some time to learn (thanks covid). I'm on the way to buying a small 310 for myself and my wife, but can't get my head around the fact that I can't bring friends/family/acquaintances in exchange for plane expenses (and a little more).
So while I'm turning my thumbs here, your post seems to confirm I could realistically pass all 3 exams, interview, write an ops manual and absorb some of the plane's expenses. Your two cents: not a crazy idea?

How much more are you insurances vs just private?

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by photofly »