Photography Questions and Tips

This forum has been developed to discuss Bush Flying & Specialty Air Service topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore, Rudder Bug

sky's the limit
Rank Moderator
Rank Moderator

Photography Questions and Tips

Post by sky's the limit »

brokenwing wrote:STL,
Do you think you could post what type of setup you're using when taking some of these pictures ( lens,fstop,iso,exposure,filters..etc?) Im a newbie to dslrs and any help would be great, do you shoot in manual mode all the time?. I'm not saying all of em, but the odd one. Unless its a secret that is. If this is hijacking the thread, then disregard.

Cheers
Hi BW,

Well, I'll tell you my gear set-up, but settings... those are what help pay the bills..! ;-)

I'm shooting a Nikon D3 with three lenses, 14-24mm F2.8, 24-70mm F2.8, and the 70-200mm F2.8 VR. All are Nikon's top pro lenses, and they make more difference than the body, which of course is excellent, but you can make great photos with great glass and not-so-great bodies.

I also use the SB-800 flash, sometimes times two as one is popped remotely. That's not often, as I prefer not going with flash unless I absolutely have to, particularly with the extraordinary low light (high ISO) capabilities of the D3 body. It's is second to none in that dept, and coupled with a fast (low F#) VR (Vibration Reduction Lens), you can get away with murder.

As for settings, I only ever shoot in Aperture Priority, and Shutter Priority. Manual is almost a waste of time and energy these days, and Auto or Program takes away any control. The only thing to remember is, when shooting action, shoot in Shutter, when shooting still life, or when trying to control depth of field, shoot in Aperture. As I say, manual isn't worth the hassle.

What camera did you buy?

Just shoot a tonne, no film to pay for anymore, and practice. Doesn't matter what you shoot.

stl
---------- ADS -----------

brokenwing
Rank 4
Rank 4