AVCANADA

It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 3:53 pm

All times are UTC-07:00

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:03 pm 
Rank 0
Rank 0

Hi, I am a recently graduate AME student from BCIT. I have searched for an apprentice position for 2 months. However, there isn't many company have the AME apprentice position opening. So I start to try applying the ramp attendant/station attendant position at Air Canada and a small local airlines.

I am wondering is there possible to be transferred to an AME apprentice position from the station attendant position in Air Canada? My ultimate goal is to get my AME licence in the next few years.

Thanks for all the suggestions here.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 8:05 am 
Rank 6
Rank 6

I know that at Air Canada, this is absolutely possible. I know of several who have done this. Get yourself hired as a Station Attendant, then file a transfer request for Maintenance. As per the Collective Agreement, your transfer will be granted the next time Maintenance needs to hire someone.

Don't limit your employment search to AC though... There's lots of Aviation going on in BC. And the rest of Canada.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 12:23 pm 
Rank 3
Rank 3

It is absolutely possible as Conehead mentioned. Lots of apprentice positions opened in the Windsor and Toronto area if you can make the move. Keep your options open to at least get some experience.

Cheers,

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:41 pm 
Rank 0
Rank 0

Because I've heard many people said that Air Canada moved their maintenance department to the other country to reduce the cost. So I was worrying they would not hire the apprentice positions any more.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 10:10 am 
Rank 3
Rank 3