Checking Tach

This forum has been developed to discuss maintenance topics in Canada.

Moderators: ahramin, sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

Post Reply
Message
Author
photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 5956
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:47 pm
Location: Part of the "me, me, me" crowd, and loving every second of it.

Re: Checking Tach

#176 Post by photofly » Sun Jan 03, 2016 8:29 pm

NeverBlue wrote:Wtf???
Your digital tach proves it all!!

It is correct guaranteed...it's digital and going off the ignition.
I believe it just runs off the regular cable drive; for sure its not calibrated, so I do admire your sudden Damascene absolute confidence that it must be correct.
You've been keeping that all along?
No, not mine - just an aircraft I happened to be in this morning.
---------- ADS -----------
Control the horizon, control the airplane

cgzro
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1735
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:45 am

Re: Checking Tach

#177 Post by cgzro » Mon Jan 04, 2016 4:53 am

Photofly, I believe thats the same tach I have. RPM-1 by EI. It is digital and gets is pickup from the two P-leads. It has an RPM drop display when one or the other mag is grounded. No cable pickup that I'm aware of.

Impressive though to be able to check in flight.
---------- ADS -----------

NeverBlue
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 907
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:53 pm

Re: Checking Tach

#178 Post by NeverBlue » Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:21 am

Correct GyvAir,

Agenda here was to give some advice to Ahramin...but then I was forced to defend myself against that advice and it became a debate about they way that most here do an annual RPM check with non-calibrated equipment in a non-standard way.

I will not answer any of your questions GyvAir because I either already have in the thread.

...or I simply don't want to

And can someone please tell me WHAT AMO IS ALLOWED TO CALIBRATE THERE OWN TEST EQUIPMENT?....with a lightbulb....
---------- ADS -----------

NeverBlue
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 907
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:53 pm

Re: Checking Tach

#179 Post by NeverBlue » Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:24 am

It's not a mechanical tach....and it doesn't need cal.

And it doesn't agree with yours...big surprise...
---------- ADS -----------

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 5956
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:47 pm
Location: Part of the "me, me, me" crowd, and loving every second of it.

Re: Checking Tach

#180 Post by photofly » Mon Jan 04, 2016 5:51 am

It only reads to the nearest 10rpm- the last digit is always zero. So in which picture does it disagree with mine??

And why do you say this tach doesn't need calibration and mine does? I'm sure there's some logic in there but I'm unable to follow it.
---------- ADS -----------
Control the horizon, control the airplane

User avatar
Troubleshot
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1291
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 12:00 pm

Re: Checking Tach

#181 Post by Troubleshot » Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:36 am

NeverBlue wrote:...because yours is a piece of "test equipment" that you are using to do part of an annual with.

...and that aircraft tach is not a mechanical drag-cup type...


and yours reads 2470 and the aircraft reads 2410...nice try on the angle though...

And this is what it has come down to folks...top has been cut off a number and no surprise NeverBlue is focusing on that to prove some point...Please PM Avcanada to get this guy out of here. I mean really though, this like a 13 year old girl bullying another girl by saying she smells bad etc...no substance, all yapper
tach.JPG
tach.JPG (65.53 KiB) Viewed 4393 times
---------- ADS -----------

cgzro
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1735
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:45 am

Re: Checking Tach

#182 Post by cgzro » Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:19 am

Just going from memory the little green led that is lit looks like the the 2550 - 2650 led position..
So 2570 would be the most likely digital value displayed on the LCD.
---------- ADS -----------

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 5956
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:47 pm
Location: Part of the "me, me, me" crowd, and loving every second of it.

Re: Checking Tach

#183 Post by photofly » Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:32 am

Sorry - it did indeed say 2570.
---------- ADS -----------
Control the horizon, control the airplane

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 5956
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:47 pm
Location: Part of the "me, me, me" crowd, and loving every second of it.

Re: Checking Tach

#184 Post by photofly » Mon Jan 04, 2016 12:24 pm

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg (114.5 KiB) Viewed 4378 times
Six more, tested and ready to be sent to those people who asked for one. Should be in the post tomorrow.
---------- ADS -----------
Control the horizon, control the airplane

NeverBlue
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 907
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:53 pm

Re: Checking Tach

#185 Post by NeverBlue » Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:43 pm

...the green led is on in the correct place for over 2500 RPM...you can't tell if it's 2510 or 2580 from the LED.

http://www.chiefaircraft.com/ei-tach.html

Why the different angle then?

and you don't know if the aircraft tach is within 9 rpm or 1 rpm of the optical one do you?

or in the case of the other two shots...within 4 rpm or 14 rpm?...3 rpm or 13 rpm?
---------- ADS -----------

GyvAir
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1700
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:09 pm

Re: Checking Tach

#186 Post by GyvAir » Mon Jan 04, 2016 2:54 pm

Ahramin? Sulako?
This guy has all the charm and usefulness of a stuck mic on frequency.
---------- ADS -----------

cgzro
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1735
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:45 am

Re: Checking Tach

#187 Post by cgzro » Mon Jan 04, 2016 4:22 pm

Think those LEDs change on the 50 not 100. That was my point. The last is above 2750 previous above 2650, previous to that above 2550 etc. Without going flying I cant be 100% certain but I believe thats what they do. Otherwise the increments are not even. Anyway Photoflys word is good enough for me.
---------- ADS -----------

NeverBlue
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 907
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:53 pm

Re: Checking Tach

#188 Post by NeverBlue » Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:44 pm

The digital tach is 10rpm resolution!

What is so wrong with what I am saying here?...and why is it different than what photofly is doing? Just because you don't agree??? Really??
---------- ADS -----------

NeverBlue
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 907
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:53 pm

Re: Checking Tach

#189 Post by NeverBlue » Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:01 pm

If they switch at 2550 like you say...then count back on the pictur i linked...your math doesn't seem to work very well... :wink:
---------- ADS -----------

NeverBlue
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 907
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:53 pm

Re: Checking Tach

#190 Post by NeverBlue » Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:16 pm

green led that is lit looks like the the 2550 - 2650 led position.. 
So 2570 would be the most likely digital value displayed on the LCD. 
Hah.

It's the only picture he took that cuts off part of the displayed numbers. So "most likely" he is trying to hide something.

What do you think about that??
---------- ADS -----------

Meddler
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 186
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:18 pm

Re: Checking Tach

#191 Post by Meddler » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:01 am

You guys are billing by the hour for this right?
---------- ADS -----------

jschnurr
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:42 pm

Re: Checking Tach

#192 Post by jschnurr » Tue Jan 05, 2016 8:58 am

Photofly:
Great work on the DIY'd tach. Would you be able to share the schematic and code? Did you use an AVR or PIC? I suppose it's simple enough, but I'm just curious how you filtered and stabilized the signal before feeding it into the microcontroller...
photofly wrote:It's a $1 4.000 MHz crystal.
Pshhh, you could get 11 for that price here.
photofly wrote:No extra switches- this is about minimal components, and three position switches are $0.70.
Would $0.15 be too much?

:wink:
---------- ADS -----------

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 5956
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:47 pm
Location: Part of the "me, me, me" crowd, and loving every second of it.

Re: Checking Tach

#193 Post by photofly » Tue Jan 05, 2016 11:11 am

jschnurr wrote:did you use an AVR or PIC?
PIC. Can you get 12 I/O pins on an AVR for $1? I have no idea.
I suppose it's simple enough, but I'm just curious how you filtered and stabilized the signal before feeding it into the microcontroller...
You're right... it's so simple I'm not going to waste your time by telling you how I did it. That's how simple it is! The code is even more trivial: two finite state machines, one to bang through the digits and the other to count the blades. Plus some 31 bit integer arithmetic.
photofly wrote:It's a $1 4.000 MHz crystal.
Pshhh, you could get 11 for that price here.
Handy. If you live in Bangkok. If you live in Toronto however and you want one this afternoon (as I did, back then) then you'll pay $1. Which is why I described it as a $1 crystal.

Here they're even cheaper: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-shi ... 94570.html
photofly wrote:No extra switches- this is about minimal components, and three position switches are $0.70.
Would $0.15 be too much?
One thing I have learned is never to buy cheap connectors, cheap switches, or knock-off semiconductors. They *always* give you more trouble than they're worth. Plus I'm also out of pins on the microcontroller and I can't be bothered to use a bigger one or do some crazy charlieplexing stunt to suit the few people who both have three blades and are too dumb to multiply by two and divide by three. Soz.
:wink:
Right back at you.
---------- ADS -----------
Control the horizon, control the airplane

lownslow
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 8:56 am

Re: Checking Tach

#194 Post by lownslow » Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:28 am

photofly wrote:
FullSizeRender.jpg
Six more, tested and ready to be sent to those people who asked for one. Should be in the post tomorrow.
I got here late and can't scan the whole thread let the boss catch me not working. How does one get one of these nifty new PhotoTachs?
---------- ADS -----------

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 5956
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:47 pm
Location: Part of the "me, me, me" crowd, and loving every second of it.

Re: Checking Tach

#195 Post by photofly » Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:45 am

Sorry - they're all gone now.
---------- ADS -----------
Control the horizon, control the airplane

lownslow
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 8:56 am

Re: Checking Tach

#196 Post by lownslow » Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:39 am

Darn. Oh well, I still applaud your effort for just going out there and making them for the hell of it.
---------- ADS -----------

rmcdonald03
Rank 0
Rank 0
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:15 pm

Re: Checking Tach

#197 Post by rmcdonald03 » Mon Apr 04, 2016 9:19 pm

Photofly, your project is awesome!

Also, do you plan on releasing a full schematic and maybe even a board layout? Or maybe making these for sale?

I built my own sampler and display board with an Arduino, but I can't seem to get the light pickup right. I'd love to see how you are cleaning up the signal coming from what I assume to be a photo transistor. I can't reliably find the rise and fall on my system unless I strobe the thing with a high contrast flashing light source.

-Ryan
---------- ADS -----------

User avatar
JasonE
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 355
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 8:26 pm

Re: Checking Tach

#198 Post by JasonE » Sat May 28, 2016 9:16 pm

Works great! Thank you very much.

Image
---------- ADS -----------

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 5956
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:47 pm
Location: Part of the "me, me, me" crowd, and loving every second of it.

Re: Checking Tach

#199 Post by photofly » Sat May 28, 2016 9:19 pm

Now it's summer, I've noticed the photodiode tends to saturate when used against a bright sunny sky. I think the solution is a short piece of black tubing around it. I'll find something that works and mail it to anyone who's noticed the same thing.
---------- ADS -----------
Control the horizon, control the airplane

ahramin
Rank Moderator
Rank Moderator
Posts: 5335
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 5:21 pm
Location: Vancouver

Re: Checking Tach

#200 Post by ahramin » Sat May 28, 2016 9:56 pm

Shrinkwrap perhaps?
---------- ADS -----------

Post Reply

Return to “Maintenance”