what country can i use with AME license?

This forum has been developed to discuss maintenance topics in Canada.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

yoon
Rank 0
Rank 0

what country can i use with AME license?

Post by yoon »

hello guys,

I am an international student and studying aircraft maintenance in college in Canada now.

I've heard that international students, especially who do not have any experience in this field, will have hard time to find a job as a maintenance.

So, I am wondering if I can work in China or Dubai or other country after I graduate from the college without any license?
or What if I could get a job and get AME license, could I use this license in other countries?

thanks
---------- ADS -----------

plhought
Rank 7
Rank 7

Re: what country can i use with AME license?

Post by plhought »

Yes, it will be hard for you to expect to work on fancy 777s for Air Canada/Emirates/Cathay/Xhina Whatever in Vancouver/Toronto out of school.

If you are willing to move out of the big centers, there's tonnes of work out there in Canada. Start reading about work Visas right now.

I'm flabbergasted the schools don't educate about the limitations of the training to international students prior to enrollment.

As for some of your questions regarding the international prospects of your AME Basic 'M' training, it's probably a question better poised to the appropriate national authority of the country you are thinking about working in.

yoon
Rank 0
Rank 0

Post by yoon »

thank you for replying, plhought.

I understand that there are M1 or M2 license depends on the size of the aircraft.

and I am not expecting that I could get a job in air canada or westjet, like big companies.

I just want to work where I can learn more about maintenance after graduation.
I don't care if the workplace is far from the big city, but I do care the salary since I am spending too much money for tuition fee now because I am an international student.