Young Maintenance Graduate Looking for Advice.

This forum has been developed to discuss maintenance topics in Canada.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

TwoMileShoreline
Rank 0
Rank 0

Young Maintenance Graduate Looking for Advice.

Post by TwoMileShoreline »

Hello guys,

I am an international student graduated from aircraft maintenance course in February. It has been solid 8 months since I graduated and I have submitted numerous copies of resume regardless the location and job type. I have traveled to many places such as Kelowna, Prince George, Terrace, Smithers, even Whitehorse and Yellowknife in order to hand in my resumes in person. However, all I heard from people is that aviation has been slow especially during this year. I got 2 interviews before but wasn't chosen by either of them. I am very helpless right now. My classmates (17 of them), besides 2 that have gotten in this field, rest of them started to give up searching and settled down in non-aviation jobs. I know it is tough for an international graduate to get the first AME job, but being an aircraft mechanic has been my dream for years. Can anyone share some suggestions or stories regarding ? Anything you would like to say is greatly appreciated.
---------- ADS -----------

robertw
Rank 4
Rank 4

Re: Young Maintenance Graduate Looking for Advice.

Post by robertw »

If your dream is to be an AME, then my advice is persevere.

You've listed a number of major centers in BC / Yukon. There are a lot more companies out there in not so major centers. There are all sorts of operators / AMO's on Vancouver Island too and up the coast of BC. Use Transport Canada's search engine to find ones with active approvals.

http://wwwapps.tc.gc.ca/saf-sec-sur/2/C ... x?lang=eng