Any opportunity of working on lycoming engines would be appreciated.

This forum has been developed to discuss maintenance topics in Canada.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

iamadog
Rank 0
Rank 0

Any opportunity of working on lycoming engines would be appreciated.

Post by iamadog »

Hi, all,
I am at Calgary. I have been an ame apprentice for 2.5 years, and am very close to get my M1 license. Currently I am working on twin-otters and kingairs. Personally, I am very interested in piston engine (Lycoming or Continental or similar) overhaul. If anyone is going to do such projects, I am willing to involve and work as a helper for free in weekends. Any opportunities or advises are highly appreciated.

Best regards
---------- ADS -----------

Last edited by iamadog on Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:52 am, edited 3 times in total.
Pacqing
Rank 4
Rank 4

Re: Any opportunity of working on lycoming engines would be appreciated.

Post by Pacqing »

Are not engine overhauls done at approved shops? Shouldn't be to hard to find them this day of internet searches. You're going to give up the time put in toward your M1 and go into a engine overhaul shop. I don't think you'll fill your log book there.

BGardner
Rank 1
Rank 1

Post by BGardner »

You don't need to do overhauls to get experience on piston engines. If you want to see opened engines visit a museum. Although having the background knowledge is good. Being able to get some troubleshooting experience on them would be better suited. Seeing cam shafts and wear on the lobes is great, now show me how you found that without ripping the engine apart.

iamadog
Rank 0
Rank 0

Post by iamadog »

Pacqing wrote: Sun Nov 12, 2017 1:27 pm Are not engine overhauls done at approved shops? Shouldn't be to hard to find them this day of internet searches. You're going to give up the time put in toward your M1 and go into a engine overhaul shop. I don't think you'll fill your log book there.