AME qualifications, basics.

This forum has been developed to discuss maintenance topics in Canada.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

SteveJc
Rank 0
Rank 0

AME qualifications, basics.

Post by SteveJc »

I would like an outline of AME qualifications for Canada.

Im British 31, started in the industry at 16 have gained numerous qualifications during my 4 year apprenticeship, I have 15 years non stop experience from line to D check on various types, structures trim mech etc... Im both confident and competent.

But I am unlicensed, I get work on the strength of my experience and the qualifications I gained in my apprenticeship.

So would I have to start from the bottom if I was to move to Canada (with my Canadian girlfriend), I currently work in Switzerland looking after 737 NG's, its a good buck here and although I know a paycut is enevitable getting slashed in half just wont do.

So what's the basics of climbing the tree over there.

Many thanks Steve
---------- ADS -----------

195psi
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by 195psi »

If you have some sort of schooling in aircraft maintenance,college,military and have a log bookor certificates or some sort of official outline of the work you have performed you may be able to present this to Transport Canada as proof that you meet the minimum requirements concerning training. If they accept this they will then allow you to write your licensning exams.
The catch is usally peoiple who do this alreday have a license from their own country so I'm not sure what TC will allow.
The best advice I can give is to contact TC themselves and get the info stright from them. Diffrent offices in diffrent parts of the country operate diffrently believe it or not. If someone gives you a thumbs up try and stick with that person through the whole process as you do not want to arrive here and be told a diffrent story by a diffrent inspector.