tool control

This forum has been developed to discuss maintenance topics in Canada.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

350TT
Rank 2
Rank 2

tool control

Post by 350TT »

I'm sure you have all heard of the surgeon who has forgotten something inside a patient and sewn them up. Rare, but it does happen... we are all human and bound to make mistakes or forget something.

How do you know when one of your tools goes missing ? Do you count them after the job is done ? Do you have foam cut-outs to see when a tool is not back in it's place ? I have to state again that my background is military and when a tool goes missing all aircraft are grounded until we find it, period.

From the question I asked in another post I realized that you will have way more tool kits than there are aircraft and wondered how you keep on top of "Joe" who borrowed your 3/8" box end wrench etc.

just curious,
350TT
---------- ADS -----------

GoWrench
Rank 1
Rank 1

Post by GoWrench »

Some companies are/have implemented foam cutouts or shadow boards(for shop tools) as a form of tool control.

I personnally have the original plastic trays from my screwdriver sets to keep them organized. All of my sockets are on socket rails. All of my wrenches are in holders. As for pliers and such, I try and take out only the tools that I need, and then put them right back in the drawer.
As for "Joe" who borrows my tools, its very seldom because all of the guys I work with have their own basic tools. If they dont have something and I do, I dont seem to have a difficult time tracking it.
BTW, my tools ONLY leave my toolbox through MY hand.

It's an unwritten rule in our hanger you dont go through another guys tool box without his permission. And if you do find someone's tools, give it back(with a slap on the wrist of course). We are a small shop so we tend to double check each others work, to help prevent accidents, lost tools etc.
So far, this system has worked pretty well for us.