737 Max Headsets

Discuss topics relating to Westjet.

Moderators: Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, ahramin, sky's the limit, sepia, I WAS Birddog

Post Reply
Level Change
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:43 am

737 Max Headsets

Post by Level Change »

Hi Guys

I have a question for the Max drivers. I have been flying the Max at AC for 8 months now and we are relegated to use non powered noise cancelling headsets. The aircraft came equipped from Boeing with Telex 750's which are garbage and anytime we plug something else into the airplane, whether it be a Bose, a Clarity Aloft, Plantronics or any other FAA approved headset, self powered or not, it blows the REU and renders the intercom and Oxygen mask mic U/S.

Are you guys having the same issue?

Cheers
---------- ADS -----------
 
User avatar
Bede
Rank 11
Rank 11
Posts: 3302
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 5:52 am

Re: 737 Max Headsets

Post by Bede »

Strange. I've never heard of anything like that. A good chunk of us use uflymic/Bose set up.
---------- ADS -----------
 
Level Change
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:43 am

Re: 737 Max Headsets

Post by Level Change »

Bede

Are you guys having any issues with CPDLC and Satcom on the Ocean? Specifically in the Max?
---------- ADS -----------
 
FL410AV8R
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:56 pm

Re: 737 Max Headsets

Post by FL410AV8R »

Level Change wrote: Mon Jun 18, 2018 12:07 pm Bede

Are you guys having any issues with CPDLC and Satcom on the Ocean? Specifically in the Max?
All operators are. It is a documented and wide spread software issue on the Max. We got a memo that a fix is being worked on but likely won’t be fixed for a few months. I’ll see if I can dig up the communication.
---------- ADS -----------
 
User avatar
Snagmaster E
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 7:45 am

Re: 737 Max Headsets

Post by Snagmaster E »

Used my A20 across the pond. No issues at all.
---------- ADS -----------
 
Money, wish I had it...
cjet
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 4:26 pm
Location: yyc

Re: 737 Max Headsets

Post by cjet »

No issues with my David ClarkDC pro x
---------- ADS -----------
 
TFTMB heavy
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 9:58 am

Re: 737 Max Headsets

Post by TFTMB heavy »

At TS we had issues with a few French planes that have the powered headset plug. When someone plugs in their battery powered headset into the plug sometimes it blows the REU, they told us to remove the batteries from the headset before plugging it in. This was with Airbus plugs btw, anyone using an Airbus to GA adaptor never had any issues blowing an REU.
---------- ADS -----------
 
Level Change
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:43 am

Re: 737 Max Headsets

Post by Level Change »

Ahh, that might be problem then. At Air Canada our 737 Max is equipped with the 5 pin XLR plug. Thanks. I have been using an XLR to GA adapter but have still managed to blow a few REU's. I hate the Telex 750 it comes with.
---------- ADS -----------
 
TFTMB heavy
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 9:58 am

Re: 737 Max Headsets

Post by TFTMB heavy »

Level Change wrote: Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:41 am Ahh, that might be problem then. At Air Canada our 737 Max is equipped with the 5 pin XLR plug. Thanks. I have been using an XLR to GA adapter but have still managed to blow a few REU's. I hate the Telex 750 it comes with.
Try taking the batteries out of your headset before plugging it in. Our maintenance said they were going to disable the power on those plugs next Winter,
---------- ADS -----------
 
Level Change
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:43 am

Re: 737 Max Headsets

Post by Level Change »

My headset doesn't have batteries. It is noise isolating rather than noise cancelling.
---------- ADS -----------
 
User avatar
KAG
Rank 11
Rank 11
Posts: 3604
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 11:24 pm

Re: 737 Max Headsets

Post by KAG »

I use the telex 850, no issues
---------- ADS -----------
 
The feet you step on today might be attached to the ass you're kissing tomorrow.
Chase lifestyle not metal.
JetA Burner
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 2:14 pm

Re: 737 Max Headsets

Post by JetA Burner »

I will be new to the 737 scene. I'm thinking about buying a Clarity Aloft headset. I've read that some guys are saying the headband/neckband hits their collar every time they look up. Anyone have any complaints?

Worst case, I'll get the QC/UFly set up. It will be great for deadheads.
---------- ADS -----------
 
B757FO
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: YYZ

Re: 737 Max Headsets

Post by B757FO »

I use the 750 and had no issues on max with other using a20.
---------- ADS -----------
 
Post Reply

Return to “WestJet”