Best resource on airliner systems

Discuss topics relating to airlines.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

fliter
Rank 2
Rank 2

Best resource on airliner systems

Post by fliter »

I am one of the current crop of young pilots lucky enough to be catapulted into the 705 world after a couple of years in a 172. Which is great, but at the same time kind of a big jump. I want to show up for ground school as prepared as possible, and I realize my knowledge of aircraft systems is horribly lacking. I studied what I had to study to pass SAMRA/SARON, but that wasn't much. I tried to read the aircraft manuals, but they're too technical for someone who doesn't have a good basic understanding of underlying principles of systems operations. Is there a resource for someone in my position, looking to get a general idea of how modern turboprops work? Thanks!
---------- ADS -----------

flyer 1492
Rank 7
Rank 7

Re: Best resource on airliner systems

Post by flyer 1492 »

Congrats on the catapult. LOL. Don't worry about system knowledge. If you are going to places like Encore or Sky Regional then you already know what type of aircraft you will be flying. Georgian has two types, while Jazz has three.

Cheers,

Flyer

ahramin
Rank Moderator
Rank Moderator

Post by ahramin »

What aircraft will you be on?

ActionAxson
Rank 1
Rank 1

Post by ActionAxson »

I just finished a book "Turbine Pilot Flight Manual" by Gregory N Brown. I think it does a good job of giving you a basic foundation of knowledge. Quick read and good info. E-book version is cheap too.

Boreas
Rank 5
Rank 5

Post by Boreas »