US Jumpseaters

Discuss topics relating to airlines.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

djgeea
Rank 0
Rank 0

US Jumpseaters

Post by djgeea »

I am an American pilot flying for Chautauqua Airlines based out of Buffalo. I am wondering if anybody knows anything about jumpseating. I understand that I can't sit in the jumpseat. I have tried several times with a 50% rate of success. Leaving out of Canada seems to be impossible. I have always been successful out of the US into Canada. Does anybody know a better way to get on the flight out of Canada? The gate agents always stop me and don't allow me to physically meet the PIC to say hello. They say that Chautauqua is not on the list, but my union jumpseat co-ordinator says that we are. I'm confused and wondering if anybody knows anything definitive.
---------- ADS -----------

Sprung
Rank 0
Rank 0

Re: US Jumpseaters

Post by Sprung »

Chautauqua Airlines is on Jazz's J/S list.

You have to list yourself on the flight by calling 800-413-1113 (option 7). The agent will create a PNR and give you a locator number.

As long as there is room on the flight, and the crew has an F/D coupon, it shouldn't be a problem.

Hope that helps.

bcflyer
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Post by bcflyer »

The easiest way around the agent is to make sure you are at the gate early enough to see the crew getting on and just say hi. (although I'm sure you already know that... lol) The vast majority of us enjoy meeting pilots from other airlines and will make sure that if there is an empty seat you will be in it. The agents don't always tell us if there are people trying to get on and with some of our flights being weight restricted, will just assume that we won't be able to take them. If we know, we can usually do a pax breakdown and make some more room to get you on.

Buzz Lightyear
Rank 5
Rank 5

Post by Buzz Lightyear »