Forgetting to do eAPIS

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

lock15
Rank 1
Rank 1

Forgetting to do eAPIS

Post by lock15 »

I recently ferried a purchased aircraft from the United States into Canada for a Canadian flight college. I am a flight instructor at that Canadian college and had a special flight authorization from the FAA and ferry permit to do the flight. I know eAPIS is for aircraft that cross the U.S. border coming or going, but I'm just curious if I should have filed eAPIS, and if there could be repercussions going forward since I forgot.

Any help would be appreciated. I should note that I haven't heard anything from any government as of yet in terms of not filing eAPIS.

Thanks
---------- ADS -----------

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster

Re: Forgetting to do eAPIS

Post by photofly »

Yes, you should have filed an eAPIS report. Repercussions are a $5000 fine for the first offence; $10,000 for the second.

DId you hear the one about the jurisprudence fetishist? He got off on a technicality.
Redneck_pilot86
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Post by Redneck_pilot86 »

You're fine. Keep your mouth shut, if they really want to find you they will, but you're not the type they are looking for. I've only filed an exit eAPIS once in 4 years, never been an issue. They might tell you what you did wrong, be polite, apologize and carry on.

The only three things a wingman should ever say: 1. "Two's up" 2. "You're on fire" 3. "I'll take the fat one"
photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by photofly »

I once had a rude letter from my buddy Ralph, over at DHS, saying they had a record of my registration leaving the U.S. without an eAPIS filing, they were opening an investigation with a view to assessing the $5k penalty, and did I have anything to say about it?