What rating do I need to fly King Air 200?

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

macdonjo
Rank 0
Rank 0

What rating do I need to fly King Air 200?

Post by macdonjo »

I'm a new private pilot and wondering what kind of credentials I need to fly a King Air 200, not for money. I understand minimum crew member is 1 and top speed is 270 knots, so it classifies as a high performance plane.

Multi-engine rating and IFR rating. Anything else? Class rating?

What am I looking at for costs to acquire licensing for this?
---------- ADS -----------

ahramin
Rank Moderator
Rank Moderator

Re: What rating do I need to fly King Air 200?

Post by ahramin »

You will need a multi engine rating to start. Cost is minimal, about $1000-$2000. Not much point having a turbine aircraft VFR only so you'll want your instrument rating. There are many topics on this board about the best way to go about doing that but again the cost is pretty minimal.

Not all King Air 200s are high performance so at this stage you are legally able to fly the non high performance ones. For the rest, you'll need a type rating. Start by writing the IATRA, then find an experienced King Air pilot to check you out on type. Submit the paperwork to TC and you will get BE20 on your license - I mean a new sticker with BE20 on it for your booklet - and you are now legal to go.