Sleeping Pills(Zopiclone)

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

3down&loct
Rank 2
Rank 2

Sleeping Pills(Zopiclone)

Post by 3down&loct »

A couple of years ago I asked my GP if there was any low risk pill I could take occasionally, when I know dam well I will not get any sleep (Death flip, etc). I was prescribed Zopiclone and have used it occasionally with great results. I did Google it before using it and found nothing on MOTs site other than it should only be used occasionally. Additionally as a Military pilot I was prescribed Zopiclone prior to deployment during the Gulf Crisis. I therefore did not give it more thought.
After my GP wrote another prescription recently, she decided to call MOT to confirm the use of it. They told her that it may not be used and was told she had to report the prescription. She also indicated I must also report the prescription.
Of course I am now a little concerned about this.
Anyone have any knowledge about this?

Thanks
---------- ADS -----------

Legacy
Rank 7
Rank 7

Re: Sleeping Pills(Zopiclone)

Post by Legacy »

Our aviation medical doctor prescribes that s--t. Do some in depth research though.

cncpc
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Post by cncpc »

My wife takes it. But only twice a week.

There is a considerable danger of addiction if not managed very carefully.

And it seems to drug you out more than give you a sound sleep.

She sometimes takes till past noon to be completely free of the effect.

Good judgment comes from experience. Experience often comes from bad judgment.
3down&loct
Rank 2
Rank 2

Post by 3down&loct »

"Our aviation medical doctor prescribes that s--t. Do some in depth research though."
How can he do this if TC says you cannot fly on it?

The times I took it I got 8 solid hrs of sleep (fall asleep within 15 mins) and felt great after waking up. No foggy head, just wide awake an ready to go.

William B