Who is the broker representing

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

pelmet
Top Poster
Top Poster

Who is the broker representing

Post by pelmet »

I have been using COPA insurance for the last several years. While I have not encountered any difficulties, my general lack of knowledge about this subject bothers me.

The broker is a company called the Magnes Group. From what I understand through internet searches, the broker sells, solicits, amd negotiates the insurance for compensation. So The Magnes Group makes money doing the above which is fine.

As well, from what I read on the internet, "an insurance broker works for you rather than an insurance company. Brokers use their professional knowledge and experience to help you properly assess your insurance needs, shop for the best value in insurance coverage and help you in the event of a claim".

So my question is....concerning the COPA situation, is the Magnes Group really there to do their best for me or their best for COPA(ie keeping me using their policy). Will they tell me of a better deal somewhere else, if it exists?

Does COPA actually make money on the whole insurance thing or are they simply using their resources to give me a good insurance option?
---------- ADS -----------

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster

Re: Who is the broker representing

Post by photofly »

The broker works for you. If you have doubts, call a different broker and see what they can find for you.

DId you hear the one about the jurisprudence fetishist? He got off on a technicality.
pelmet
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by pelmet »

photofly wrote:The broker works for you. If you have doubts, call a different broker and see what they can find for you.