Career Paths

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

evand.13
Rank 1
Rank 1

Career Paths

Post by evand.13 »

I'm pretty new to aviation and want to be a pilot. Looking at different potential programs and career outlooks, it seems there are so may different paths you could follow. I'm interested in hearing other peoples stories about how their careers have developed. Tell me the good and the bad, I want to try to get a real sense of what it is like building hours from just over 200TT to where you are now. I'm also open to looking at all types of jobs including bush, cargo, charter, etc.:

Where did you get your first job?
How long did it take?
What are you personal recommendations for landing that first job?
How many flying jobs have you worked?

Answers related (but not limited) to these questions are greatly appreciated.

---------- ADS -----------

Blackdog0301
Rank 3
Rank 3

Re: Career Paths

Post by Blackdog0301 »

Last edited by Blackdog0301 on Fri Aug 24, 2018 7:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
evand.13
Rank 1
Rank 1

Post by evand.13 »

Blackdog0301 wrote: Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:29 pm Here’s what my timeline looked like.

January, 2014 - Began my flight training full time.
March, 2014 - completed my private license, and began time building towards the 200 hour commercial requirement. 45ish hours total
December, 2014 - Commercial license complete - 200 ish hours total
January, 2015 - started my instructor training, and finished that in March, 2015 with 230ish total.
April, 2015 - first flying job doing some instructing, and aerial photography.
September, 2015 - job offer at my first flight school instructing. Now up to 450 hours total.
July, 2016 - I move closer to home and continue instructing with another flight school. I came into this job with 800ish hours