Float Plane Insurance

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

efestian
Rank 1
Rank 1

Float Plane Insurance

Post by efestian »

I am a private pilot with 130 of total time. I owned (and recently sold) a cherokee 140 which I gained most of my hours. I now live on water in Northern Ontario and am looking to buy a 180 or 182 on straight floats.

My question is about insurance. yes, i get it is a lot more than on wheels. Since I have zero hours on floats, I plan to get my float endorsement with Sudbury Aviation (or similar) which will get me about 7 to 12 hours. It is my understanding that I need around 25 hours on floats to get insured. So if I buy a plane, is my only option to ferry it? then how do I get more hours on floats to get insurance to fly my plane? Any suggestions from those that have any experience on this chicken and egg scenario.

Thanks.
---------- ADS -----------

AR705
Rank 1
Rank 1

Re: Float Plane Insurance

Post by AR705 »

When I bought my plane it was on wheels but had floats. I changed it over and insurance covered me for my float endorsement at no extra cost or expectation from them. So I guess it depends on your insurance company. I've heard the 25 hrs from others, but didn't apply to me. My rate has been more or less the same since I bought my plane with 12 hours of total time. There was a small extra fee while I was a student pilot. I think it was a couple hundred a year. So if the same as my insurance coverage, you just need someone with a float endorsement to ferry for you or with you, and then do your rating. A 180/182 on straight floats will be fun!!

C.W.E.
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Post by C.W.E. »

You can do several things.

First of all you """ MUST """" have public liability to fly it period.

As to hull insurance you can fly the twenty five hours without it, just don't wreck it.