Toronto Sightseeing

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

avcraig
Rank 1
Rank 1

Toronto Sightseeing

Post by avcraig »

Hello,

I am a fairly new Private Pilot and based out of CNC3 (Brampton Airport).

I would like to take a flight down to Toronto for some overflight of the city/sightseeing. My main concern/problem is honestly just a little bit of fear to get there funnily enough.
I'm from an uncontrolled airport that doesn't have much radio communication and I haven't been to many big airports with lots of radio communication. So the overflight of Pearson to the Toronto
Skyline freaks me out as I would imagine there being lots of frequencies and traffic to get there and even while you're above Toronto just circling around. Even if I don't overfly Pearson and go around,
I would still imagine there being lots of radio communication that would bring you hell from the controllers if you were to mess a tiny thing up.

Please, can someone explain to me the procedure of flying to Toronto for a sightseeing flight from CNC3.

If I am also in the wrong thread, please let me know.

High appreciated,
Craig.
---------- ADS -----------

lhalliday
Rank 4
Rank 4

Re: Toronto Sightseeing

Post by lhalliday »

I'd fly west of Pearson's zone down to the lake shore, then east. Toronto Terminal may be helpful. City Tower will clear you for orbits of downtown, typically at 2000 or 2500.

...laura
CN Tower.jpg
CN Tower.jpg (108.47 KiB) Viewed 1932 times

A346Dude
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by A346Dude »

Do you have the Toronto VTA? If not, get it and study it, and know the airspace. Do not enter class C airspace (vertically or horizontally) without a clearance.