What is it like being an aviation tech?

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

Kian78
Rank 0
Rank 0

What is it like being an aviation tech?

Post by Kian78 »

Evening,

I stumbled across this forum because I wanted to hear what people actually in this industry had to say about it.
I currently work as an HVAC Tech in training and, I have only two semesters left with school as well.
The trade is good but lately I haven't been feeling unsatisfied with it.
This trade I'm in kills your joints; knee's are aching.. Very long hours: work-life can be difficult and can't say I am enjoying all the small crawl-spaces, attics and tiny furnace rooms.

I've always been intrigued by the job title 'Aircraft technician' since my high-school teacher mentioned it to me years ago. I have been looking into it the past week including on the job videos.
It looks and sounds awesome: working on a huge Boeing, getting into and taking apart all the smaller things that make it work.
Looks really exciting but, the information online is very limiting surprisingly..

Not a lot of information regarding life of an Aircraft tech and I wanted to inquire more so here I am :)

Anyone here willing to share their experiences in this industry?
Is it rewarding, physically tough/back breaking? lots of hands on work and, whats the work-life like?
Would you say Aircraft Techs are in demand: is it hard to find a job?
I hear the typical pay is between 60 - 90k yearly; about the same as HVAC to be frank.

Thanks for the help!
---------- ADS -----------

Meecka
Rank 8
Rank 8

Re: What is it like being an aviation tech?

Post by Meecka »

Kian78 wrote: Sat May 11, 2019 12:10 pm kills your joints; knee's are aching.. Very long hours: work-life can be difficult and can't say I am enjoying all the small crawl-spaces.