Damaging an engine by turning the prop backwards

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

ahramin
Rank Moderator
Rank Moderator

Damaging an engine by turning the prop backwards

Post by ahramin »

If I need to move the propeller by hand I always turn it backwards so that the mags do not fire. Recently a pilot told me that this could damage the engine. Has anyone ever heard of a small Lycoming or Continental engine being damaged by turning the prop backwards?
---------- ADS -----------

linecrew
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Re: Damaging an engine by turning the prop backwards

Post by linecrew »

I think the pilot was thinking of hydraulic lock which only happens with downward facing pistons like the bottom one on a radial engine, not a horizontally opposed engine...but I'm no mechanic.

tired of the ground
Rank 5
Rank 5

Post by tired of the ground »

I believe there are certain vacuum pumps and that can be damaged by being rotated backwards.

Daigo
Rank 1
Rank 1

Post by Daigo »

Last edited by Daigo on Sun Jun 04, 2023 6:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
iflyforpie
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by iflyforpie »

It is the dry vacuum pump that can be damaged by turning it backwards. This is because the brittle carbon vanes are “swept” opposite the direction of rotation (which is why you have CW and CCW pumps vs just changing inlet and outlet.

However, if the pump cavity is so chattered and your vanes are so short that it breaks in this manner at low rpm... your pump is on borrowed time anyways.

Geez did I say that....? Or just think it....?
youhavecontrol
Rank 5
Rank 5

Post by youhavecontrol »

tired of the ground wrote: Mon Jun 10, 2019 1:29 pm I believe there are certain vacuum pumps and that can be damaged by being rotated backwards.