Who here has been ramped by TC?

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

Dronepiper
Rank 4
Rank 4

Who here has been ramped by TC?

Post by Dronepiper »

Hello!

Who here has ever been ramped by TC? Where was it? What did they look for? What kind of aircraft were you flying?

I understand they look to see who is taking off with residual ice on the wings, but will TC go out of their way to take an entire load off of an airplane and weigh it, to see if you were actually within gross weight limits?

I stay within limits, and the rules, but I am genuinely curious about this. We all know that some northern operators will overload every-once in a while. I DO NOT condone this, but I just wonder if anyone has been caught.

I understand that only the TSB will weigh stuff, and that is only after an accident.

I have been flying for 10 years, and I have never been ramped by TC. I have no idea what is involved.
---------- ADS -----------

PilotDAR
Rank 11
Rank 11

Re: Who here has been ramped by TC?

Post by PilotDAR »

Yup, I've been randomly ramped twice in 40 years. Once in a C 150 arriving at the airshow in London, and the other time after landing from a TC flight test of a modified 185 at the dock in Yellowknife. In both cases, TC were fine, and I passed no problem. But, they did check all the documents, and what I was carrying in the cabin, and how it was secured.

Adam Oke
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Post by Adam Oke »