The clubhouse.....

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

PilotDAR
Rank 11
Rank 11

The clubhouse.....

Post by PilotDAR »

When I was a teenage pilot wannabe, I hung around the clubhouse (Maple Airport). I listened a lot, and spoke a few times - probably making myself look silly some of that time! But, I was around aviation, and I liked that. Aside from reading at home, it really was the only way to be around aviation and pilots back in the '70's. As a new pilot, I hung around the clubhouse at Brampton. A tiny bit wiser, and still very eager to hang around and learn from the old wise, established members. I still said things which probably displayed my inexperience, but I was polite, and seemingly accepted.

Since then, I hang around clubhouses less, with my own runway, it's easier to just stay home. But I still revere those pilots with more experience than I as I get older, I want to learn from these wise, experienced pilots, while they will share their wisdom. So I sure act as though I appreciate them! If I disagree I try to filter or mute and appearance of disagreement. They're not at the clubhouse so much, and neither am I, I find them here!

So, while finding them in the AvCanada clubhouse, I still want to convey courtesy, and appreciation. And, for the new wannabe pilots who have come here, similarly, I want to appear to be courteous, and appreciate that they are interested in joining our passion. We need new pilots, more than every! And it's a much steeper hill than when I did it in the '70's.

So, aside form the occasional clarification, or defense, I would like to portray, receive, and generally see, conduct around here, which is at least as polite as would be the case if we were all sitting around with coffee. Why would anything less be acceptable - because people are anonymous? Pish posh!