What type of logbook do you use?

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

VikVaughan
Rank 3
Rank 3

What type of logbook do you use?

Post by VikVaughan »

This is probably a fairly trivial question, but as a newbie I'm curious. What is your preferred type/make of logbook? (non computer). Are you indifferent? Some people appear to treat them as a nearly sacred journal of their flying experiences, while for others they appear to be merely a nuisance or purely functional necessity. I'm about to buy my first one and want to know if you've come across a particular type you've liked or found durable, provided all the fields/features you need, etc, etc. Do you just buy the first and least expensive one you come across, or spend a little bit of money on a "nice" one because it might mean something one day? Does it matter?

Once again, forgive the newbness! Curious to hear your response.
---------- ADS -----------

-VV

Jablonski... Noooooooooooooo!
Epsilon
Rank 3
Rank 3

Re: What type of logbook do you use?

Post by Epsilon »

I'm aware that buying your first logbook is a big milestone in ''the pilot experience'', but a nice excel worksheet beats any paper logbook. No paperwork, no more scratches, automatic sums, no more ''wtf did I wrote here?''

VikVaughan
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by VikVaughan »

Epsilon wrote:I'm aware that buying your first logbook is a big milestone in ''the pilot experience'', but a nice excel worksheet beats any paper logbook. No paperwork, no more scratches, automatic sums, no more ''wtf did I wrote here?''
I'd imagine it would definitely be easier to deal with in Excel. What I intend to do is keep a physical version and an excel version as backups of one another. I've had computers poop on me way too many times not to :?

-VV

C-GPFG
Rank 7
Rank 7

Post by C-GPFG »

Excel for me now as well. I back it up to my email account.

C-FKLY
Rank 3