Questions for YYZ Tower?

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

cossack
Rank 4
Rank 4

Questions for YYZ Tower?

Post by cossack »

Over in the ATS questions forum I've started a thread for questions about YYZ Tower. So rather than hijack other threads ask all your YYZ Tower specific questions there.

Cheers

DC
---------- ADS -----------

Bede
Rank 11
Rank 11

Re: Questions for YYZ Tower?

Post by Bede »

OK, I'll start. I've been flying regularily out of YYZ for the past 5 years. When I started, YYZ was a gong show, but considering the traffic flow, it runs pretty darn good now. (Kudo's to ATC when the Wx is bad). When I started going into YYC 5 years ago, it ran pretty good; now it is the worst airport in the system. Yes I know, the runways are intersecting, corporate traffic, yada, yada, yada. However, there are airports with less space, more traffic, moving traffic a lot more efficiently. Something has to be done about YYC spacing between landers and departing traffic. Is it really necessary for a plane to hold short when a lander is 5 final? Flow when it's CAVOK? I better stop.

Sorry to hijack.

Beefitarian
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by Beefitarian »

The YYZ ATC guys probably followed their spouses to YYC 4 years ago.

Inverted2
Rank 11
Rank 11

Post by Inverted2 »

"Rog" was really working it good today in YYZ. My beef is the useless ground control. We had to deice and left T1 gate 135 I think and had to taxi all the way down to where the old 'East Beach' was by taxiway DT then go all the way back to the deice pad. Took 18 mins to get off the frigging apron. You're usually airborne in Atlanta before that and they move way more aircraft than Toronto. So no beefs with the ATC but the ground has gotta get their #%#* together and don't ever switch frequencies on your own, (like most other airports do) because they will freak out on you!