Radio & GPS for a J3

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

Lotro
Rank 4
Rank 4

Radio & GPS for a J3

Post by Lotro »

I flew a J3 to Collingwood this weekend and in addition to freezing my a** off, I realized that I'm uncomfortable flying a plane without a reliable radio and that a GPS would be prudent given that the 1946 bird has no heading indicator and a suspicious compass.

I realize that the joy of Cub flying is strict VFR flight and I safely made it to Collingwood and back without the aid of any nav instruments or radios (it helps when you have infinite visbility), but as a 120hr pilot, I was uncomfortable at times.

The plane did have a handheld radio that hooks up to an external antenna, but for some reason (maybe operator error) it would recieve, but not broadcast. My guess is that the battery was pretty much frozen from being in the plane all night, and couldn't produce enough juice to broadcast.

At any rate, my question is: if I wanted to buy a handheld radio and portable GPS to fly XC in this particular aircraft, what would you reccomend?

I searched the site, but found nothing, so apologies if this has been answered elsewhere.

I don't need overkill on the radio or GPS, just enough to make me feel a little more comfortable and keep me safe going forward.

Thanks for your insight.

Lotro
---------- ADS -----------

Big Pistons Forever
Top Poster
Top Poster

Re: Radio & GPS for a J3

Post by Big Pistons Forever »

Lotro wrote:I flew a J3 to Collingwood this weekend and in addition to freezing my a** off, I realized that I'm uncomfortable flying a plane without a reliable radio and that a GPS would be prudent given that the 1946 bird has no heading indicator and a suspicious compass.