Logbook Question

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

Sunnyb
Rank 0
Rank 0

Logbook Question

Post by Sunnyb »

Hi,

I need some advice regarding logging time. I am a Canadian resident.
I did my training in the USA and the converted my license to Transport Canada commercial multi IFR. I have the Jeppessen professional pilot logbook from the states. I will be starting as an FO up in Northern Ontario soon. Just wondering if I should buy a Canadian log book and start logging time in that or should I continue in the Jeppessen logbook.
Transport Canada accepted the logbook when I converted my FAA license but just wondering if they would have any issues later on when I apply for ATPL.
The only differences I noticed are the columns for the names (PIC, CO-PILOT) in the Canadian logbook and the Jep logbook doesn't have those columns.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

SB
---------- ADS -----------

Colonel Sanders
Top Poster
Top Poster

Re: Logbook Question

Post by Colonel Sanders »

TC would like you to get another logbook, but you don't have to.

In the USA, you logged PIC during dual received, but when in
Canada, that time counts only as dual.

Down the road it will be easier to understand what time you have
if you have two different logbooks. TC will like that for your ATPL.

Sunnyb
Rank 0
Rank 0

Post by Sunnyb »

Ok thanks Colonel. I will purchase a Canadian logbook and start using it from now on.

Cheers

Beefitarian
Top Poster
Top Poster

Post by Beefitarian »

Sunny, did you log any Co-pilot as "solo" or did you put it all in the "dual" column?

I think as long as all the dual time is placed and totaled up in the dual column the American book is perfectly fine. Colonel?

All you need to do is make sure you have enough Pilot In Command time that Transport Canader deems acceptable. Just talk with them when you apply for the ATPL.