Sort of off topic advice, but not really

This forum has been developed to discuss ATS related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

outflying8
Rank 3
Rank 3

Sort of off topic advice, but not really

Post by outflying8 »

Hey you classy folks!

I am in a bit of a conundrum. I am still awaiting a call for the upcoming training classes (fingers crossed) which I understand they will be beginning to extend offers any day now, my problem is this:

I am a university student (3 classes this term) and just started about a month ago working a sales job at a car dealership to earn extra cash for my wife's and I's upcoming first child (due in June!) Problem is I already feel a little stretched out time-commitment wise. If i get offered a training spot I want to devote an exorbitant amount of time studying the prep material to ensure that come day 1 I know this stuff inside and out. I refuse to fail any aspect of this dream job of mine. So logically I can only see that I have these options (if you can think of another please let me know):

A) Quit my dealership job (only been here 6 weeks) and focus on my university and knowing the prep material in and out before training. (this means no more income until training starts)

B) Drop my 3 classes and focus on work and studying for the training until 2 weeks before training when I quit the dealership anyways. (I would lose out on all the work I have done thus far, and would have to start repaying student loan in 6 months, and I would lose the $$ paid in tuition for the semester).

C) I have the option of working on my in-laws farm as a truck/equipment driver, I could do that and have time to study in the evenings, they would probably also work around my schedule.

D) Maintain status quo and try not to burn out with my 50 hour work week, 3 classes, prep studying for the training, and any small resemblance of a social life I can cling to

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated!!!

THANKS TO YOU ALL