Making the move to helicopters

This forum has been developed to discuss helicopter related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

CharlieKilo
Rank 0
Rank 0

Making the move to helicopters

Post by CharlieKilo »

Good day all,

I'm currently flying as a fixed wing pilot, I enjoy the "low n slow" aspect of flying in fixed wing and have always admired choppers and the work they do. I've ridden in a handful of different machines and really enjoy it.

I've tried the airline world in fixed wing and it's not really my speed.

Just looking for some input and opinions on what my journey would be like if I tried to switch. I have about 6000 hours fixed wing and I'm wondering if this would help or hinder the jump to choppers? I've heard having a decent amount of hours can make it tougher given the emergencies, habits built up over the years in planes.

Any tips on companies that would still show some interest in me?

Feel free to PM if you prefer.

Thanks
---------- ADS -----------

Loner
Rank 3
Rank 3

Re: Making the move to helicopters

Post by Loner »

I am in both worlds
The heli world will not really care about your FW time.
Have you considered crop dusting?
I have done it and lived it but again not for everyone.
All about stick and rudder low but not slow.
Rotary is fun too but to get to that “fun” stage, it will require a lot of experience/time.
These days not much opportunities for low timers
I’d stick to FW if I were you.
Again, based on my experience as a heli and FW guy

AngelsSang
Rank 2
Rank 2

Re: Making the move to helicopters

Post by AngelsSang »