Chopper Pilots, Please Help!!

This forum has been developed to discuss helicopter related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

AboveTheRuin
Rank 1
Rank 1

Chopper Pilots, Please Help!!

Post by AboveTheRuin »

Ok here’s the deal…
First a little about myself: I’m currently a fixed-wing pilot flying regional jets for a major U.S. air carrier. I hold a Transport Canada ATPL and an FAA ATP. I have always held a strong desire to fly helicopters (ever since my early days of flight) and now, thanks to a lot of hard work and a recent stock investment; I finally have the capital to obtain my alternate category Commercial Rotary-Wing Licence. In the past I have worked as a Birddog pilot, thus introducing me to the capabilities and environments these machines thrive in…although I understand this is a small glimpse into the world of rotary-wing it has given me a profound respect for the crews and there craft of flight. I know this topic of Licence “conversion” has been touched before and I am already well aware of the determination and hard work required to “make it” in this great industry of ours (yes, I have chucked bags and washed many a airplane on the ramps of YK)…so assuming I hold the determination and drive…I’m looking for any advice, helpful hints or anything else ANY of you may have to offer…from brand new students to seasoned drivers.

Questions…