Self maint. for purchased homebuilt

Share ideas on building aircraft.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore

awitzke
Rank 7
Rank 7

Self maint. for purchased homebuilt

Post by awitzke »

Hey guys, I am starting to poke around at the prospect of buying an aircraft. Specifically an RV6. I'm new to the homebuilt world and had a question regarding self maintenance. I know that to be classified as a home build (correct me if I'm wrong?), the builder must complete 51% of the build. Doing so allows them to complete work and maintenance on the aircraft themselves. My question, if I were to buy a completed aircraft does this transfer over to me? Since it is still a home built, experimental aircraft? Or would I be relegated to only elementary maintenance?

Thanks
---------- ADS -----------

photofly
Top Poster
Top Poster

Re: Self maint. for purchased homebuilt

Post by photofly »

according to COPA when you buy a homebuilt you can maintain it yourself as though you had built it.

DId you hear the one about the jurisprudence fetishist? He got off on a technicality.
Chris M
Rank 5
Rank 5

Post by Chris M »

In the US only the original builder can apply for a Repairman Certificate, which allows them to perform the plane's annual Condition Inspection. If the plane is sold the new owner has to use an AME for the annuals from then on. Unfortunately I'm not sure if this carries over into Canada. I like to listen to the EAA webinars as background to drown out the stupid people at work but what they have there is all US-based info.

But for regular repairs and mods if you're the owner you can do pretty much whatever you want.

awitzke
Rank 7
Rank 7

Post by awitzke »

Thanks for this info. I'll try to do a bit more research on it, just tough as most info is for the USA.