The insanity of this industry

Place a topic in this forum to introduce yourself and find a little advice.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako

moocow
Rank 7
Rank 7

The insanity of this industry

Post by moocow »

OK, so like most pilots here, I want to fly for a living. Sounds great until I start looking at the industry wages and job security. Unlike other people, I have the unique chance of getting straight into a B777-300 if I manage to complete all the interviews, the flight grading, and the flight school at Cathay Pacific. Too bad I didn't watch what I said and got drop kick from the interviews, but not bad enough to get black listed. So here's some of my options and hope those in the know can weight in my options and analysis.

1. Reapply to Cathay's cadet scheme. Assuming I keep my cake hole shut and get invited to their training school and get a job later, I will basically short cut the entire process of a typical pilot and be a relief pilot on either A340 or B777. Pro: job with an airline within a short period of time. Con: forget about working with another airline because I will have minimum PIC hours for the next 8 years. The only PIC hours would be gained during Cathay flight school. Also, I will only earn 50% of my seat time because I will be a Second Officer.

2. Pay my own way, get a float rating, and find a good outfit to work for. Pro: nothing special stands out in this area. Con: massive debt, no job security, working ramp and may not lead to anything. As a post-secondary graduate with a finance background, getting into massive debt with no potential way to pay it off is as good as getting cancer. You may survive but it will sure to take a few years off your life. Or I can get a better job to pay for my training, which will take longer to complete.