Do i need to clear Customs?

This forum has been developed to discuss flight instruction/University and College programs.

Moderators: ahramin, sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, Right Seat Captain, lilfssister, North Shore

Post Reply
Seerat
Rank 0
Rank 0
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:54 pm

Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by Seerat » Sun Jun 02, 2019 11:02 pm

Hi Guys, I'm planning a night flight from CZBB-CYYJ.
ROUTE; CZBB-point roberts-east point-stuart island-CYYJ. Now, do i have to clear customs if I'm going through the US and landing in Victoria??
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
rookiepilot
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:50 pm

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by rookiepilot » Mon Jun 03, 2019 11:54 am

No. US overflights are allowed.

Be sure however to check TFR's, including getting a US brief if Canada won't confirm TFR info, and maintain continuous ATC radio contact, and be on a filed flight plan.
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
AirFrame
Rank 10
Rank 10
Posts: 2041
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:27 pm
Location: Sidney, BC
Contact:

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by AirFrame » Tue Jun 04, 2019 6:30 am

While what Rookie says is technically correct, in practical terms half the planes making that crossing aren't on a flight plan. Many aren't talking to ATC either, having been told to stay below 2500' as Class C is restricted. The airspace is managed by NavCanada and has for most practical purposes been abdicated to Canada to maintain. As long as your routing is Point Roberts to East Point direct, or Cherry Point to East Point direct, nobody is going to intercept you for flying in US airspace.

Flying into and out of YYJ you need a transponder code before you make contact with ATC. Coming to YYJ, your departure airport will give you a code so calling for a flight plan is just added work. Leaving YYJ, you have to call the FIC to get a code anyway, so you might as well file a flight plan while you have them on the line.
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
rookiepilot
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:50 pm

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by rookiepilot » Tue Jun 04, 2019 9:29 am

Ok. I'm not familiar with the local accepted practices. Good to know if I get out there again
---------- ADS -----------
  

CpnCrunch
Rank 10
Rank 10
Posts: 2997
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:38 am

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by CpnCrunch » Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:59 am

Also, no need to check for TFRs if just flying in Victoria terminal airspace over the USA. If there are any restrictions, it will be NOTAMed.
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
rookiepilot
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:50 pm

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by rookiepilot » Tue Jun 04, 2019 12:02 pm

CpnCrunch wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:59 am
Also, no need to check for TFRs if just flying in Victoria terminal airspace over the USA. If there are any restrictions, it will be NOTAMed.
That is really interesting. You would hope so but not knowing myself, I would be wary of assuming.
---------- ADS -----------
  

7ECA
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 866
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 4:33 pm

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by 7ECA » Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:12 pm

rookiepilot wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 12:02 pm
CpnCrunch wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:59 am
Also, no need to check for TFRs if just flying in Victoria terminal airspace over the USA. If there are any restrictions, it will be NOTAMed.
That is really interesting. You would hope so but not knowing myself, I would be wary of assuming.
Being that it's Canadian airspace, any restrictions would be NOTAM'd.

And of course the most common NOTAM will be the "temporary" Class C restrictions, no VFR traffic above 2500' unless authorized - and routed in a circuitous and convoluted manner usually well outside of ones comfortable gliding range. Or, you can stay below 2500', keep the power up and tell terminal to pound sand...
---------- ADS -----------
  

ahramin
Rank Moderator
Rank Moderator
Posts: 5877
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 5:21 pm
Location: Vancouver

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by ahramin » Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:21 am

Or you can just fly one of the two routes guaranteed to be available at 4500'. No need to go at 2500' no matter what's going on with atc.
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
rookiepilot
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:50 pm

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by rookiepilot » Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:22 am

Is it Canadian airspace?
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
AirFrame
Rank 10
Rank 10
Posts: 2041
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:27 pm
Location: Sidney, BC
Contact:

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by AirFrame » Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:32 am

rookiepilot wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:22 am
Is it Canadian airspace?
No. It's US airspace, managed by NavCanada.
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
rookiepilot
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:50 pm

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by rookiepilot » Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:37 am

AirFrame wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:32 am
rookiepilot wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:22 am
Is it Canadian airspace?
No. It's US airspace, managed by NavCanada.
Understand.
I did not know that applied to TFR's, but makes sense.
---------- ADS -----------
  

BGH
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:12 pm

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by BGH » Wed Jun 05, 2019 4:25 pm

You probably already have this,from this months cfs.
Daryl
---------- ADS -----------
  
Attachments
3B9B2F86-267C-4668-BE3A-EBC27D8F4360.png
3B9B2F86-267C-4668-BE3A-EBC27D8F4360.png (712.03 KiB) Viewed 741 times

User avatar
AirFrame
Rank 10
Rank 10
Posts: 2041
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:27 pm
Location: Sidney, BC
Contact:

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by AirFrame » Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:29 am

Yeah, that CFS entry can be taken with a grain of salt. It's "current" but nobody will ever get the Whiterock Route between East Point and Whiterock direct. You *will* be told to go to Cherry Point first, which keeps you out of YVR Terminal. YYJ Terminal is happy to have you there instead.
---------- ADS -----------
  

lhalliday
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 5:30 pm

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by lhalliday » Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:54 am

The VTA has shown the route between Cherry Point and East Point for years.

...laura
SAM_3438.jpg
Approaching Cherry Point
SAM_3438.jpg (140.85 KiB) Viewed 685 times
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
AirFrame
Rank 10
Rank 10
Posts: 2041
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:27 pm
Location: Sidney, BC
Contact:

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by AirFrame » Fri Jun 07, 2019 6:39 am

lhalliday wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:54 am
The VTA has shown the route between Cherry Point and East Point for years.
It has, but the Whiterock route is still shown in the CFS for some reason. Odd, because you can't get it.
---------- ADS -----------
  

7ECA
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 866
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 4:33 pm

Re: Do i need to clear Customs?

Post by 7ECA » Fri Jun 07, 2019 1:09 pm

AirFrame wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 6:39 am
lhalliday wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:54 am
The VTA has shown the route between Cherry Point and East Point for years.
It has, but the Whiterock route is still shown in the CFS for some reason. Odd, because you can't get it.
Not to worry, with the big NavCan YVR et el airspace study that's commencing soon, it'll all get cleared up.

And probably made many orders of magnitude more complicated. :roll:
---------- ADS -----------
  

Post Reply

Return to “Flight Training”