DA40 vs SR20

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

davidnapper1
Rank 0
Rank 0

DA40 vs SR20

Post by davidnapper1 »

Hi Everyone! Brand new here so I appreciate any feedback in advance!

Ok so I am a new pilot, nearing 80Hours, getting ready to really get out and explore in the spring. I currently own a '73 Piper 180 and it has been great! But, I am in a position to upgrade so I am looking to the market and from my research and conversations so far I am looking for advice between a DA40 and SR20.

The factors that run through my head that will lead my final decision are ....
- I am new and not a cowboy. I like to feel in control/comfortable. I am definitely not a sport pilot
- One reason for upgrading is because my family will feel more comfortable with something "newer". I know, that we know that age isn't everything however my wife would definitely "feel" more comfortable in plane with a glass cockpit and new paint for example. It's the perception
- One of my main missions will be taking the family to the cottage now!! It's a grass strip about 2,300 feet in Emsdale Ontario. I hear the nose gear on the DA40s might be an issue?? again everyone has an opinion but love to hear different perspectives. I am being told you can slam an Archer or 172 on the strip no problem but the gear in the DA40 isnt as robust?
- Cottage is only about 100NM trip
- Kids are young still (12 and 8 years old) total weight for 4 passengers would be around 450lbs right now
- Speed isnt my biggest consideration. Anything is better than 4.5 hours on the highway in the summer
- I don't have any immediate plans for much longer cross country trips right now outside of 200NM. Pretty much - it will be some time I am sure before I am heading to Alberta or something like that.
- Budget isn't a huge consideration unless it was just a drastic difference operating costs