Becoming a pilot

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

Danxixi02
Rank 0
Rank 0

Becoming a pilot

Post by Danxixi02 »

Hi guys I am a university student heading to second year. I found that university is not my thing. I am thinking of quitting university and register in a flight school. I've always been interested in flying and aviation, is it a possible route for my future career? And what is the most difficult part in becoming a pilot? What is the hardest subject? How easy is it to find a job after getting an instructor rating?
---------- ADS -----------

Flight94
Rank 2
Rank 2

Re: Becoming a pilot

Post by Flight94 »

My experience,

Becoming a pilot is easy. The exams are simple, all the way through to ATPL, and flying an aircraft is not difficult.

The hard part is the financial aspect. Not only expensive training, but low low wages for a few years once you get a job. No benefits, unscrupulous employers, likely have to relocate numerous times.

However if you get some good command time and an ATPL, these days there are many employment options. Most here will question whether or not any of those options are "good" but that's totally subjective.

I left a good career later on in life to "pursue the dream" and have no regrets.

broken_slinky
Rank 4
Rank 4

Post by broken_slinky »

Yes, it is a possible route for your career. Yes, it is rather easy to get a job after getting your instructor rating. As mentioned by Flight94, the most difficult part is coming up with the money for the training.

ICUP
Rank 1
Rank 1

Post by ICUP »

The hardest thing in becoming a pilot is having a good attitude. Many pilots may have scored great in their tests but their attitude doesn’t allow them to move upwards in their careers. Some of them somehow make it and you will question why they fly for a living.