The state of the industry for new hires?

This forum has been developed to discuss helicopter related topics.

Moderators: sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, North Shore

Shea_G
Rank 0
Rank 0

The state of the industry for new hires?

Post by Shea_G »

I’m contemplating switching careers and was hoping to get some inside information from those in the industry. I’m currently a professional land surveyor in training (33 years old) a few months away from getting my professional accreditation but find myself not loving what I do (low compensation and more office work as career progresses). The surveying industry has a serious issue lately (last 15 years) with underpaying (avg $35/hr with a degree and 15 years experience vs working with labourers getting $45/hr+).

My question is what is it like for one getting into the commercial rotary wing industry right now? What are typical wages for someone 5-10 years in? Are there a lot of job openings or is it very hit and miss? Rotary wing vs fixed wing? What does the future look like for industry?

I’ve been hesitant to commit 100k for training in the past because I was told the competition for jobs was fierce, I was thinking with the labour shortage going on right now in other industries, this may be a good time to get it as it may be easier to find a job and start building hours?
---------- ADS -----------

Bug_Stomper_01
Rank (9)
Rank (9)

Re: The state of the industry for new hires?

Post by Bug_Stomper_01 »

The industry is disintegrating around us, now is about the worst time to get in. I can’t count how many companies have gone under in the last ten years, some were 60 plus years old.

rehande
Rank 0
Rank 0

Post by rehande »