Flight Sim 10....... a review

This forum has been developed to discuss aviation related topics.

Moderators: ahramin, sky's the limit, sepia, Sulako, lilfssister, North Shore, I WAS Birddog

User avatar
Axial Flow
Rank 6
Rank 6
Posts: 496
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 6:00 pm

Post by Axial Flow » Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:15 pm

Thanks for the report, for once I was glad to hear your opinion. :lol:
Have they done anything to the weather functions ?
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
Troubleshot
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1291
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 12:00 pm

Post by Troubleshot » Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:18 pm

LOL...that was a great review thanks!
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
hazatude
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 6112
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 4:02 pm
Location: Hamilton
Contact:

Post by hazatude » Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:26 pm

There are a lot of websites out there that will pay you real $$ for that review. Seek and prosper.
---------- ADS -----------
  

TopperHarley
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1870
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 2:56 pm

Post by TopperHarley » Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:29 pm

S&J,

Why should a pilot of your high caliber require a flight sim computer game? I thought you were naturally talented :lol:
---------- ADS -----------
  
‎"Never travel faster than your guardian angel can fly." - Mother Theresa

User avatar
desksgo
Rank 10
Rank 10
Posts: 2851
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 12:05 pm
Location: Toy Poodle Town, Manitoba
Contact:

Post by desksgo » Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:36 pm

C-HRIS wrote:S&J,

Why should a pilot of your high caliber require a flight sim computer game? I thought you were naturally talented :lol:
"Hi hunny, I'm home from my flight, I'll be in the basement playing flight simulator if you need me."
---------- ADS -----------
  

bandit1
Rank 7
Rank 7
Posts: 715
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 9:56 am

Post by bandit1 » Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:38 pm

The only time flight sim is fun is after about 10 beers.

When I finish flying 7 hours in a day the last thing I want to do is pretend I am flying on my desk. Unless I've already had 10 beers.
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
invertedattitude
Rank 10
Rank 10
Posts: 2353
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 1:12 pm

Post by invertedattitude » Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:41 pm

There are some various sites with some additions you can make to configuration lines to speed up frame rates.... and yes the game is a goddamn HOG, but it's nice to look at, at 0.5 frames per minute.
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
hazatude
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 6112
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 4:02 pm
Location: Hamilton
Contact:

Post by hazatude » Mon Oct 16, 2006 6:41 pm

When I get home from a brutal day on the ramp, I spend all my time hanging out on Avcanada and it makes me feel like I'm still at work...only a little dryer and a lot nakedder :wink:
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
172pilot
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 11:03 am
Location: Canada

Post by 172pilot » Tue Oct 17, 2006 12:07 pm

Just installed FSX last night. My first impressions are not good. Like the original post/review states, do not buy it unless you have a CRAY or some other super computer.

If you have a decent/good computer, keep using FS2004 and get some upgraded terrain. You'll be better off. Otherwise, FSX with medium settings looks just like FS2004 except runs at half the speed, in my opinion.

I wish I wouldn't have uninstalled my FS2004 with all my scenery and aircraft addons.... sigh.

I was also disappointed the ATC is the same. Flight models appear to be the same and sounds are the same as well. Not sure what the 60$ got me.

Usually each new release is a serious step up, but not this time it seems.
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
Clodhopper
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 374
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 5:24 pm
Location: Wishing the only ice I saw was in my drinks...

Post by Clodhopper » Tue Oct 17, 2006 12:14 pm

My biggest complaints with the last few FS versions:

1 - Lack of proper "un-controlled" handling characteristics (stalls, spins, and slips (more un-coordinated than un-controlled).

2 - Lack of first-party effort (the 3rd party and freeware stuff is unbelievable, the First Party Boeing aircraft look like aviation abortions)

3 - ATC - SUCKS...I dont care if its interactive, its the most basic of basic Radio Telephony, and even it sucks

4 - System Hog - any version needs a really good computer to start taking advantage of how it can look. So I just file IFR in it, fly in cloud and dont worry.

FSX looks like it doesn't address 1 - 3, and only makes #4 worse.
---------- ADS -----------
  
a.k.a. "Big Foot"

ei ei owe
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 792
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:39 am
Location: getting closer to home

Post by ei ei owe » Tue Oct 17, 2006 4:18 pm

Losers....all of you. Why not wait a little while and download it all for free? I can spend that 65 bucks elsewhere thank you. By the sounds of it though, my laptop won't handle it so I won't even bother. And, winter's rolling in so I'll get all the IFR practice I need, feel good about my flying and have all the time in world to enjoy my life at home.
---------- ADS -----------
  
Everything comes in threes....

User avatar
sanjet
Rank 8
Rank 8
Posts: 812
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 8:54 am

Post by sanjet » Tue Oct 17, 2006 4:56 pm

One question... Have you checked the display setting and made sure she wasn't capped to 12 fps? I found out is the the default setting when u install the sim. My 2ghz CPU with Nvidia 256 4AGP runs it with 30-40 fps no problem.
---------- ADS -----------
  

Front.
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 8:40 pm

Post by Front. » Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:02 pm

You know what I think? I rather spend all that money you spent on your humpty dumpty computer, and used it for flying. For 3 grand i am sure you could of taken a plane somewhere for a week and gone on vacation, or if you don't have your license yet, at least get 3/8's done on your real world flying.
---------- ADS -----------
  
Last edited by Front. on Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rudy
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1167
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 10:00 am
Location: N. Ont

Post by Rudy » Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:58 pm

Cancel your order for all that new hardware, then go into display settings and set the frame rate cap to unlimited.
---------- ADS -----------
  

Chop&Drop
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 12:23 pm

Post by Chop&Drop » Tue Oct 17, 2006 6:10 pm

While I do enjoy simming around, after about 5 minutes I feel like I want to blow something up. Can anyone recomend a good jet combat sim?
---------- ADS -----------
  

linecrew
Rank (9)
Rank (9)
Posts: 1743
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 6:53 am
Location: On final so get off the damn runway!

Post by linecrew » Tue Oct 17, 2006 7:19 pm

Rudy wrote:Cancel your order for all that new hardware, then go into display settings and set the frame rate cap to unlimited.
Cpt sweet'njuicy, did this help increase your framerate?
---------- ADS -----------
  

Front.
Rank 5
Rank 5
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 8:40 pm

Post by Front. » Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:15 pm

perhaps you can do it 8)
---------- ADS -----------
  

JL
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 12:56 pm
Location: Edmonton

Post by JL » Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:54 pm

...another older, but good aerodynamic flight sim was A10 Cuba. It was a whore to fly with an aileron shot off! Simple landscapes which helped keep the frame rates up. All in all a great sim IMO. Too bad there wasn't anything else done to add on to it or take it to the next level so to speak.
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
Icebound
Rank 7
Rank 7
Posts: 740
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 1:39 pm

Post by Icebound » Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:37 pm

C182 wrote:
should we start a avsimulation forum?

http://www.avsim.com

Long running and well established. Has a library with all kinds of freebie 3rd party downloads, etc.


...
---------- ADS -----------
  

User avatar
Sideshow
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 9:07 pm
Location: BC DME

Post by Sideshow » Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:12 pm

Oh man! No good spin charachteristics... LAME!
We were thinking of using a good simulator program as a teaching aid at our school. So much for using FSX.
If kick pull hold doesn't work I wouldn't even pirate FSX.
Although watching ants screw might be worth the d/l...
---------- ADS -----------
  
...and then I got paid to fly....

chief
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 9:50 pm

Post by chief » Thu Oct 19, 2006 8:15 pm

Those the DX10 compatible ones cpt?
---------- ADS -----------
  

Raybanman
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:05 pm
Location: Not in Florida Damnit

Post by Raybanman » Thu Oct 19, 2006 8:58 pm

I've noticed that on my dual core system (AMD X2 4600+) that FSX doesn't seem to make use of the second core. Anyone else noticed that, or do I have some settings somewhere messed up?
---------- ADS -----------
  
Some people are like slinkies: Not much good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.

Braun
Rank 7
Rank 7
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 11:32 pm

Post by Braun » Thu Oct 19, 2006 10:21 pm

same, apparently it wasn't "designed" for AMD. what bs.
---------- ADS -----------
  

KnownIce
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 8:57 pm

Post by KnownIce » Thu Oct 19, 2006 10:39 pm

Braun wrote:same, apparently it wasn't "designed" for AMD. what bs.
LOL -- FSX was clearly not "designed" for my AMD 1700+ but I still tried anyways. The beauty of FSX on my machine is that I get to appreciate the detail in every single frame, often for 2-3 seconds apiece.

The only version of Flight Sim I've ever owned that ran well on my existing computer was version 2 on my IBM PC Junior!

re: frame rate... I have heard it is not a good idea to set it at unlimited. Doing so forces your hardware to attempt to process as much data as possible for the immediate image to give you max frame rate. If you instead back it off a bit, your computer has a real chance to render everything it needs for that instant, and start looking ahead to preload upcoming scenery. I noticed this a lot in FS2002/04 if for example you do a quick 360 at the edge of a large skyline. At unlimited frame rate I'd get 50+ fps while facing away from the city, and 10 fps when facing the city. If I set my PC to 24 fps max, I'd get that for the whole rotation. A constant frame rate is a lot more pleasant on the eye IMHO.
---------- ADS -----------
  

chief
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 9:50 pm

Post by chief » Fri Oct 20, 2006 8:17 am

You're better off waiting for the DX10 cards. DX10 is supposedly to increase the performance 6 fold.
---------- ADS -----------
  

Post Reply

Return to “General Comments”